Laos Exempt Visa For 8 European Countries For The First Time

The Laos government has approved visa-free entry for tourists from several countries, including Australia, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Norway, Spain, and Sweden.

Visitors from these countries can now enjoy a visa-free stay of up to 15 days. Visitors exceeding the stay limit will need to obtain a visa through the regular process. This initiative aims to attract more tourists for the remainder of Visit Laos Year 2024, with the new rules effective from July 1 to December 31.

Another relaxation of visa policies concerns more nationalities. Until December 31, 2024, tourists from 22 countries will be able to obtain multiple-entry visas valid for stays in Laos of up to 60 days. Currently, the Lao visa allows only one entry into the country for a maximum stay of 30 days.

The 22 eligible countries are including Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and United States.

To benefit from this extended visa validity, it is imperative to apply before departure at a Lao embassy or consulate.